Our Mission

The Ladysmith Health Care Auxiliary is a not-for-profit organization that supports healthcare facilities, programs that promote health and wellness and the up-keep of the Memorial Gardens through fundraising by volunteers.

Thrift Store profits fund healthcare equipment, programs and health and wellness initiatives provided by community organizations, schools, foundations and hospitals.

Our volunteer members operate and manage numerous programs in the community to provide services and generate funds to assist other non-profit health related programs.

Are you looking for a rewarding volunteer opportunity in Ladysmith, BC? We have something for almost everyone and we need you! Come be a part of our amazing community. Find out moreā€¦

Our History

The Ladysmith Health Care Auxiliary began in 1909 as a small group of local women donating their services to perform various tasks at the local hospital. Over the years the organization and functions of the Auxiliary progressed from in-hospital help and small fund raising events to become a vibrant community entity with over 250 members that operates various health care associated programs. We can proudly say we have one of the best thrift stores and gift shops on Vancouver Island. With the change of our local hospital from a full service facility to a community health care centre, the focus on where our funds are directed has also changed.

Who We Are Today

The Ladysmith Health Care Auxiliary is a not-for-profit charity. We are governed under the Societies Act of BC and registered with Canada Revenue Agency. All the net profits of the Auxiliary are used for the benefit of our community. Spending priorities are decided at regular meetings of our members.

With your help we have donated over $6M to support health initiatives in this community.

About Us Document (pdf)

Our Executive

  • President: Ruth Goodbody
  • Vice President: Eithne Reichert
  • Corresponding Secretary: Paula Scott
  • Recording Secretary: Pam Fraser
  • Treasurer: Sara Stayte
  • Co-Treasurer: Anna Costello
  • Director of Membership: April Marrington
  • Director of Public Relations: Vacant
  • Member at Large: Andrea Rosato-Taylor
  • Member at Large: Susan Watt